Life inside a kitchen sink.. :-)

There have been many days when we have just left all the dishes in the sink unwashed at the end of the day and gone to bed. The next day morning, when I enter the kitchen, I stare at the sink looking at the number of dishes out there to wash. But at the same time I feel that the dishes are staring at me too hoping to be washed in some warm water because they have been out in the cold for more than 8 hours.

I use to just think that if the dishes and other items that are lying in the sink could talk to each other, and also can communicate with me, what it would be like??? May be this is how…

Characters: Myself, Blender (Jar, blade & the bush), pressure cooker, rice cooker, microwavable bowl (1 from my neighbor’s house), my tiffin box and a spoon

Scene: 10.30 pm – After finishing the dinner, my wife and I split the dishes, emptied them and have put them in the sink. On one side of the sink has Rice cooker filled with water inside which there is the blender’s jar, blade and the bush. Other side the pressure cooker, again filled with water with the cooker lid immersed in that. The remaining space in the sink occupied by the semi open tiffin box which have not been washed for more that 2 days :-(, and the spoon.

Rice cooker – Hey… Hey… Hey Gokul… Common man… where are you going??? I thought you were going to clean us tonight…

Gokul – No! sorry guys… You see, both of us (Subha and I) have had a very busy day… we had gone out in this cold night for some shopping, just came back and finished our dinner… So you guys have to wait till tomorrow…

Pressure Cooker – This is really not fair man… You guys have been giving excuses every single night for that last 5 days… Do you even want to listen to our issues?? We cannot be sitting here in this cold all night… My case is even worse… Either you are putting me in extreme heat (on the hot plate) while cooking or putting me through extreme cold in the sink… Give me a break

Gokul – Ok let us talk about this tomorrow… Good night guys… Click (Lights off)

Rice Cooker- Giggles… Hey Pressure Cooker, I think you really gave him a piece of your mind… I felt like saying the same thing to him… Look at these other folks out here… They don’t speak up because they don’t face the issues that we face. It’s only us who either have our ass under fire or have to hold ice cold water for 8 straight hours.

Blender blade – Hey!! wait a minute… What are you talking about… I have problems too man… Its not like I keep quite because I don’t face any problems… Its because, I have given up with this guy.. There is no point arguing with him any more…

Pressure cooker – Really!!! Like what?? I thought you belong one of those elite group.

Blender Blade – No… Am just put through so much stress but I just dont get any credit from these guys. They just drop all kinds of stuff on top of my head asking me to crush/grind. So many times they end up choosing the wrong speed/level and keep telling me that I have either over crushed or under crushed the stuff… I just hate it when they want me to grind the Dosa/Idli mix… They forget to soak the rice & oorad dhal well ahead of time, or do not put them in the right proportion and expect me produce the right results… Now they have removed me from the jar and the bush and have dropped me inside you in this dirty cold water. Tomorrow one of them is going to come and leave their hand inside to pick me up and will get hurt… I am going to be blamed for that also despite their carelessness… I just hate my life.

Rice Cooker – Boy!! you have so much to complaint… I understand your problems but your blades are actually poking on me… Its kind of a little painful when you talk particularly… can you like turn a little bit…

Blender Blade – Ooops am sorry!!!

Rice Cooker – Thats alright… By the way, what is that bad smell… That really stinks..

Tiffin Box – Thats me… Yes thats me… I know I stink… But that is not my fault… I was sitting inside his office back pack for two days and he took me out only tonight… The least he could have done is atleast not opened me partly. At least I would not be spreading around the stinky smell…

Presure Cooker – Its ok tiffin box… We can understand your problem. We are probably experiencing only a little bit of that smell… You have been keeping that with you for more than two days… it must be tough…

Tiffin Box – Tell me about it… This is not the first time… Particularly if its a weekend and he does not have to take lunch the next day, am 100% confident he will forget me… Boy I just hate weekends… Normally when he realizes that I have to be cleaned, the sink is empty so I generally don’t tend to affect you guys with the smell.

Spoon – What about me… I have the same problem too. He did not wash me too…

Tiffin Box – But you dont stink like I do… even if he does not wash you at all you are not going to stink.

Spoon – That does not mean that I dont have problems. None of you guys have would have faced the problems that I have faced..

Tiffin Box – Ohhhhhhh!!! I know what you are talking about… But I will let you say that so that others know it… Really funny… you guys should hear this.

Spoon – Stop it man… there is nothing funny about this… Its really painful…

Pressure cooker – Ok.. Ok… tell me what is it??

Spoon – You guys know that there is a erator under this sink hole right? It actually has some sharp blade like stuff on it… So when he switches that on, it rotates hard and removes any stuff that is stuck inside so that water can flow smoothly down the drain…

Rice cooker – Ya… we know that.. But we did not know that it has any blade like stuff on it. We have heard the sound when it rotates but did not know the details… By the way, how did you know all that…

Tiffin Box – Ha.. Ha.. Ha…. (lol…) Sorry man… I just could not help it…

Spoon – Laugh you stinky moron!! Anyways, what really happens is that sometimes if the sink is slipery, I slide down the sink hole and fall on top of the erator… Without knowing that am in there, gokul just switches that on and erator rotates so hard and just beats the crap out of me… I have to shout loud to tell him that am inside… Then he stops the erator and pulls me out… Am still sore from the last time…

Pressure Cooker – Man that’s a very sad story… We did not know what was down there… By the way there seems to be stranger amongst us here…

Microwavable Bowl – Hi guys… I actually live next door… My master had made some eatable stuff which they had passed on me… It was actually funny to listen to all you guys… Because this the first time am sitting in a sink unwashed…

Rice Cooker – Really??? What are you talking about.. How’s that possible?

Microwavable Bowl – You know at my house, there is a dish washer… There have been days when I have sat inside the dish washer waiting to be washed… But I think its worth the wait… Warm water spraying from all directions.. It sometimes tickles also… 🙂  Once the washing is complete even hot air blows and dries us so we don’t feel cold…

Pressure Cooker – Hmmmmm… Some of us have also had that good experience… When Gokul use to live here in another house we use to have that dish washer experience. It use to be so much fun… I look forward every day for that experience… When we came to know from Gokul that we are moving on to this house which does not have a dish washer, it was like the worst news I have ever heard…

Rice cooker – Yup I agree with you…

8.00 am – Lights on

Gokul – Hey boys Good morning…

Rice cooker – Ya… Ya… Good morning… Can you please open some warm water on us please…

Gokul – Sorry boys… I dont have the time for that now… Subha should be here in a few mins… She will take care of you… Ok… Byee…

Rice Cooker – Hmmm… that’s even better… Now we have to wait for some more time..  😦

The wait continues… 🙂

About goks

My friends call me Goks and I like being called that way. :-) I am a Piscean by my sun sign and I perfectly fit the description that is available in any public domain. I am just saying that so that I dont have to write too much here. I am married and have a beautiful family... The fact that am married will reflect on my blogs hence no politically incorrect comments or posts from me... ;-) I started blogging in Sep 2009 after being inspired by a friend of mine (Actually my mentor on a lot of aspects of life) I discovered that it is a great way to express myself... Here is where I write - https://gokulraman.wordpress.com Am also an amateur photographer learning everyday. I have always felt that capturing something picture worthy on a camera is a very rewarding experience. Sharing it with others and seeing them enjoy that picture is even more rewarding. I take pics of just about anything hence no specialities. I specifically like shooting nature, animals, landscapes, etc. So if you are bored with what I have written, pls visit my photography blog... http://goks3rdeye.wordpress.com

Posted on January 10, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. good imagination! paavam spoon

  2. wooooo…..
    long journey have we made,
    from the glorious school days,
    nice to get in touch with you these days,
    thro ur cool writing glades.

    Hey Goks, u r now on my Google reader :), nice to see you blogging and enjoyed ur writing.

  3. Hi, Nice post. Nice imagination 🙂
    Typical story in each of our houses – especially those who live outside their hometowns 🙂

  4. Wowwwwwwwwwwww U r just awesome… Very good imagination.. Enjoyed a lot… I could not sleep properly coz of these idiots conversation… So i never allow them to talk during nights… 🙂

  5. superb imagination !!!! great sense of humor , really cud not stop laughing !!!!!

  6. Funny one….cant resist laughing about the spoon but I was expecting something else about the spoon’s grievance 🙂

  7. gocoooooolllll….. its awesome man… I just went to our school days.. and the time you were in thiruvanmiyur house… i am laughing..laughing..laughing..

    cheers,

    suba

Leave a Reply

