My favorites from Isai Gnyani Illayaraja – 1

Tamil cinema industry in particular is well known for giving titles to people in the industry like “Super STAR”, “Mel Isai Mannar”, “Kavi Arasu”, etc, etc… One such name is “Isai Gnyani” Illayaraja… He is truly an “Isai Gnyani” – Am sure there is some divine force within him. Like many of you, I have a large collection of his songs on my iPod and listen to them everyday…

Although there are some great music composers today, I feel that some of the good songs that I have heard recently seem to have a life cycle… At first instance you like them, you want to hear them for a few times again and again, but soon that song will not interest you anymore… A new song comes by, and so on… But some of the songs by “Isai Gnyani” seem to have some magic… The more I listen to his songs, the more I want to listen to them again.

One such song is “Ooooh Vasantha Raja… Then Sumandha Roja…” from Neegal Kettavai… Am sure every music director takes time to understand the situation of the song and tries to bring that feel in the song. But this one is brilliant…If you had noticed the idea behind that song is to give you a duet which has traditional classical music in the 1st Charanam and be based of western music in the 2nd Charanam. He chose a beautiful ragam which can accommodate both kinds of music (I think it is MULTANI KAPI – I have read somewhere although also resembles Keeravani a little bit– One of Isai Gnyani’s favorite ragam I should say). In classical he used Veenai and Mridhangam and for western he used guitar and drums. In both charanams the notes are the same but in different instruments… To make the western sound western but based off a South Indian classical tune is just brilliant… I guess that is why we call him the one and only Isai Gnyani… 🙂

About goks

My friends call me Goks and I like being called that way. :-) I am a Piscean by my sun sign and I perfectly fit the description that is available in any public domain. I am just saying that so that I dont have to write too much here. I am married and have a beautiful family... The fact that am married will reflect on my blogs hence no politically incorrect comments or posts from me... ;-) I started blogging in Sep 2009 after being inspired by a friend of mine (Actually my mentor on a lot of aspects of life) I discovered that it is a great way to express myself... Here is where I write - https://gokulraman.wordpress.com Am also an amateur photographer learning everyday. I have always felt that capturing something picture worthy on a camera is a very rewarding experience. Sharing it with others and seeing them enjoy that picture is even more rewarding. I take pics of just about anything hence no specialities. I specifically like shooting nature, animals, landscapes, etc. So if you are bored with what I have written, pls visit my photography blog... http://goks3rdeye.wordpress.com

Posted on July 5, 2010, in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

