The Paradox of Privacy

Am an immigrant hear in The US for employment. So obviously I did not have the luxury of growing up here and shaping my views and thought process in line with most Americans. Of course when you come from a different culture you start noticing a lot of paradox in the culture you are trying to embrace.

One such is this notion of privacy here. The level of importance that is given to privacy in the US in just mind boggling.Modified_Confused_Smiley_by_Prince_of_Powerpoint So much so if a Presidential nominee does not deal with the questions around privacy appropriately, it could break their primary candidacy in the elections… You may have noticed that recently in the republican primary debates… I remember seeing this movie ‘Enemy of the state’ starring Will Smith. The whole movie plot is around privacy.

Anyways, coming to the important point about the paradox… I findTypical Door it incomprehensible as to how little people care for their privacy in the public toilets or toilets at work places. A typical workplace toilet looks like this one. Just look at the gap between the frame and door. A place where you are pretty much going to be pants and under pants down, a place for all practical purposes you could be displaying your private parts to the person walking in from the other side, it seems absolutely ok to people here.You may have also noticed (not in this picture but in general) that there is at least 1 feet gap between the toilet door and the floor and if there are multiple toilets, there is a similar gap between the toilets next to each other. Am not sure how many people follow Seinfeld (Comedy TV series late 80s – early 90s), there is a specific episode when George talks about the exact same thing in a funny way. Nothing has really changed since though…

When Government wants to monitor people’s phone calls, internet browsing, etc for ‘national security’ reasons people scream for privacy,  when people buy homes they want space from the neighbor so they can have privacy, each individual in a family needs a separate room so they can have privacy… But when they get to work or other public places they could care less for their privacy in toilet… Well… I find that odd but that may be just me and perhaps the culture I come from.

Aunnamednyways… someone at my workplace seems to have been concerned about this issue and has come up with a really intelligent way creating the privacy he needs inside the toilet. Look at the picture here, he has pulled a long toilet paper, hung that from the hook on door on the inside. Found it interesting and took a picture of that… Of course this does not solve the whole problem… but helps overcome at least one of the main concerns… So if you are one of those looking for privacy in public place toilets, here you go… 🙂

About goks

My friends call me Goks and I like being called that way. :-) I am a Piscean by my sun sign and I perfectly fit the description that is available in any public domain. I am just saying that so that I dont have to write too much here. I am married and have a beautiful family... The fact that am married will reflect on my blogs hence no politically incorrect comments or posts from me... ;-) I started blogging in Sep 2009 after being inspired by a friend of mine (Actually my mentor on a lot of aspects of life) I discovered that it is a great way to express myself... Here is where I write - https://gokulraman.wordpress.com Am also an amateur photographer learning everyday. I have always felt that capturing something picture worthy on a camera is a very rewarding experience. Sharing it with others and seeing them enjoy that picture is even more rewarding. I take pics of just about anything hence no specialities. I specifically like shooting nature, animals, landscapes, etc. So if you are bored with what I have written, pls visit my photography blog... http://goks3rdeye.wordpress.com

Posted on January 2, 2016, in American Life Style, life, Opinion, Peelasophy, Privacy, Random thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

